Think Fooditude

Hungry for life with an appetite for good food.

Restaurant Review: Junior’s

Leave a comment

Yesterday, I took two of my friends to lunch at the famous Junior’s in Times Square for some legen…..(wait for it)…..DAIRY cheesecake.

They do not call themselves the “Most Fabulous” for nothing. Junior’s has been around since 1950 and first opened in Brooklyn. Their popularity of cheesecakes has become internationally renowned and loved just the same. Along with cheesecakes, Junior’s offers a deli/diner style breakfast, lunch, dinner, and anything inbetween. The atmosphere is very casual and busy. The restaurant is almost always packed with people, so be prepared to wait.

I ordered the chicken salad sandwich. This was my first chicken salad anything, but it is what you would expect it to be. I liked that it was served on a thick Texas toast, too. Pickles, cole slaw, and beets were also served with the meal. All of them were a bit too sour for my liking, but it didn’t bother me because of what was to come:

This is what we came for: the cheesecake. We each ordered our own. I ordered the strawberry cheese pie and it was AMAZING. Good thing I had it all to myself.

The past couple of times I visited Junior’s, I ordered the mini raspberry swirl cheesecake and the strawberry shortcake cheesecake. I remember looking at this on the menu and thinking, “cheese… pie?” Don’t let that combination fool you. It’s just cheesecake on pie crust topped with strawberry sauce, strawberries, and all sorts of amazing. The difference between this pie and the strawberry shortcake is that the shortcake is layered, fluffy, and cake-like. The cheesecake has a light, whipped texture and an extremely creamy taste. It does not feel as heavy to my stomach as other cheesecakes have in the past.


Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake.


Red Velvet Cheesecake.

Junior’s never disappoints because you CAN have your cake and eat it too. If anyone was wondering how this stacks up against Cheesecake Factory, all I can tell you is “Fuhgeddaboudit.” The next time you are in New York and want a cheesecake, pay a visit to Junior’s.

Note: All photos taken with the iPhone 4S.

Author: Samantha N

My name is Samantha and I am a magazine editor living in New York City with a passion for food and writing.

Leave a Reply

