Think Fooditude

Hungry for life with an appetite for good food.

Food Checklist: Sandy Edition

Leave a comment

Superstorm Sandy left the tri-state area in a wreck. The storm barraged through the east coast on Monday evening and left a mess that has not been easy to clean up.

Hofstra University has been very fortunate to have minimal damage. There was a power outage on Monday evening for an hour and television cable was out until today. The most that I have seen were fallen trees, but I do understand that there have been water and gas problems that have been delaying classes to resume.

Trees on campus were knocked down from the powerful winds of Sandy. Photo taken on my iPhone.

Strong winds uprooted large trees on campus. Photo taken on my iPhone.

I stocked up on some food essentials to prepare for Sandy’s wrath because I knew I did not want to venture outside much this week. Without these items, I definitely would not have survived.

1. GoPicnic Salami + Cheese

This tasty pack includes beef salami slices, olive oil & sea salt crackers, asiago cheese spread, fruit & nut mix, and a chocolate crunch cluster. I love this because it is a perfect portion and it’s easy to eat wherever you are. It is also the best combination of salty and sweet. I like to think of GoPicnic as the modern day Lunchables except it is non-perishable and healthier. I bought it with the intention of eating it as dinner. It makes a great meal substitution in situations such as storms.

2. Frosted Strawberry Pop-Tarts

Or any Pop-Tarts flavor for that matter. You can’t go wrong with it because it doesn’t need to be toasted and it’s great for on-the-go, in case you may have to evacuate. I have been eating it for breakfast and it has not failed to satisfy my hunger. It may be loaded with sugar, but drastic times call for drastic measures.

3. Cookie butter and Nutella sandwiches (refer to this post)

I don’t know who else does this, but I keep my peanut butter in the fridge in fear that it will go bad. Cookie butter from Trader Joe’s does not require refrigeration, nor does Nutella. Not to mention the sandwich tastes like a holiday cookie. Bread is a staple for storms because it does not need to be toasted just like Pop-Tarts. I have had so many of these sandwiches this week. Cookie butter and Nutella is one of the best combinations I have found.

4. Annie Chun’s Hot & Sour Soup Bowl

I may not always eat instant ramen, but when I do, it’s Annie Chun’s. I love my Japanese ramen and udon, and this is the closest thing I can find to it without going out to the Lower East Side of Manhattan. This soup bowl was my dinner on the night of the storm. It was only fitting because soup and a rainy day are the perfect pair. It may not be practical if you don’t have power unless you can find a way to boil water. Fortunately for me, I was able to prepare it while I still had power. This soup bowl cooks in the microwave for 90 seconds. It is a bit more expensive, but I prefer it to Top Ramen or any other instant noodles because the fat content is lower. The Hot & Sour bowl contains 1.5 grams of fat whereas a chicken flavored Top Ramen contains 7 grams. It is the best brand of instant noodles, in my opinion.

5. Good ol’ granola bars

Granola bars are a staple to my dorm room because they tide me over until I have access to an actual meal. They are also great on-the-go. I am currently loving the Kashi Layered Dark Chocolate Coconut because the chocolate consistency is like a smooth fudge. It is outstanding. Any type of granola bar is essential for storms.

My thoughts go out to anyone who has been affected by Sandy. I am grateful for all of the men and women working to clean up the debris that Sandy has left behind. I cannot wait for everything to be back to normal again so we can embrace the next upcoming storm: the holidays.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Samantha N

My name is Samantha and I am a magazine editor living in New York City with a passion for food and writing.

Leave a Reply

