Think Fooditude

Hungry for life with an appetite for good food.

do-nyc-storefront

A First Timer’s Guide to Visiting DŌ NYC

Leave a comment

If you love cookie dough as much as I do, you might know about a special dessert shop that opened a few months ago called DŌ NYC, where you can purchase safe-to-eat cookie dough. This is not a drill.

I actually knew about DŌ NYC more than a year ago when they were still located at a warehouse type of location in Midtown East. When I had visited, I ordered a cup of vegan sugar cookie and received a free scoop of cake batter. Here’s the picture to prove it!

do-nyc

My first time eating DŌ NYC in during the summer of 2016

Flash forward to January 2017 and DŌ NYC opens its first retail shop in Greenwich Village, offering flavors like Fluffernutter with peanut butter, chocolate chips, and marshmallow fluff; Nuts for Nuts with Reese’s pieces, peanut butter, and Reese’s cups; and Confetti with sprinkles, white chocolate chips, and dark chocolate chips.

You may be asking, what’s so great about this concept? Well, it’s the way it’s handled, making it safe to consume. DŌ NYC uses a pasteurized egg product, so there’s no chance of salmonella, and heat-treated flour, so there is no risk of becoming sick. You can even leave your raw cookie dough out at room temperature for a few hours and it can last in the refrigerator for up to three weeks or in the freezer for up to three months. Not bad, if you ask me.

Tips for Visiting DŌ NYC

Just like every food trend in New York City, you better expect to wait in a long line for this cookie dough. The DŌ NYC website recommends visiting right when the store opens at 10am.

When I visited, it was about 4pm on a Saturday and it took about 1½ hours to wait. The line usually starts on the opposite side of the store. During the time you are waiting, I recommend looking through the flavors to figure out what you want. Once the line reaches the corner of the block, a DŌ NYC employee will have a menu for you to look through. At first, I thought I would only buy one scoop of cookie dough, but 30 minutes in, I decided to get two.

Along with the raw cookie dough, you can also purchase milkshakes, cookie dough sundaes, ice cream sandwiches made with ice cream between raw cookie dough, and baked products like a cookie cake, cookie sandwich, breakfast cookie bar, and cookies. I actually said aloud in line, “I wonder if anyone actually purchases the raw cookie dough and goes home to bake it?” and a friendly family standing behind me replied, “That would be such a waste.”

I ended up getting a scoop of Dunkadoo (not pictured), which has Teddy Grahams, vanilla frosting, and sprinkles, and a scoop of Cake Batter: cake batter-flavored dough with chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, and sprinkles. If I can recommend any flavor it would hands down be Dunkadoo. I think after a while, I have a problem with the texture of chocolate chips, but everything blended well with Dunkadoo. Plus, who doesn’t miss Dunkaroos from the ’90s?

I don’t say this with a lot overhyped products around New York City (especially that overpriced cookie from Levain Bakery. Just had to mention that in here), but I would not mind waiting 1½ hours again to buy this cookie dough. It’s not every day that you can have safe-to-eat cookie dough, and there are so many flavors to try—even seasonal flavors. I didn’t even care if I looked like a tourist while standing in that long line, finding a dessert like this is such a gem.

cake-batter-do-nyc

There is a sign in the store that says “dreams dō come true” and I could not agree more

Author: Samantha N

My name is Samantha and I am a magazine editor living in New York City with a passion for food and writing.

Leave a Reply

