Think Fooditude

Hungry for life with an appetite for good food.

Recipe: Açai Bowls

1 Comment

acai-bowl

My homemade açai bowl

I ate a lot of açai bowls growing up in Hawaii and missed them dearly when I moved out to the East Coast. It was always something I had to eat every time I went home. Somehow this phenomenon made it out to other smoothie shops/healthy restaurants around the continental U.S., so of course it wound up in New York.

There was one day where I was really craving an açai bowl and found a restaurant that made them in my neighborhood. I was so excited to try it and paid $8 for a bowl, but when I took a bite, it was extremely disappointing. It lacked flavor AND there will still large ice chunks. So I sat there and had a revelation that I could probably make a better açai bowl at home. So I did.

Behold: my açai bowl recipe. I drew inspiration from everything I liked, and it’s really easy to customize. For example, I had a really great açai bowl at Diamond Head Cove Health Bar and tried bee pollen for the first time, which I ended up loving as a topping. I’ve provided two recipes below, but really just add or remove any toppings to cater to what you like. I’m not adding measurements here because you should add however much of an ingredient you want. However, I will say that you want to avoid adding too much milk just to make sure it stays true to the consistency of a regular smoothie.

Directions:

1.  Pour enough granola to cover the bottom of your bowl and slice your banana in half. Use one half for the smoothie and save the other half in the bowl.

2.  Combine the açai pack, fruits, milk, honey, and ice (optional) in a blender.

3. Slice the other half the banana and add your toppings.

Regular açai bowls:

• 1 açai pack (you can find this near the ice cream section of a health grocery store. My favorite brand to use is Sambazon)

• Frozen strawberries

• Frozen blueberries

• 1 banana sliced in half

• Splash of almond milk (or any milk of your choice)

• 1 Tbsp. raw honey

Green smoothie bowls:

• 1 açai pack

• Handful of spinach

• Frozen pineapple

• Frozen mango

• 1 banana sliced in half

• Splash of almond milk (or any milk of your choice)

• 1 Tbsp. raw honey

Toppings:

• Banana, sliced

• Granola (I personally like using honey-flavored granolas to complement the honey in the smoothie)

• Chia seeds

• Shredded coconut

• Bee pollen

Author: Samantha N

My name is Samantha and I am a magazine editor living in New York City with a passion for food and writing.

One thought on “Recipe: Açai Bowls

  1. Pingback: I Gave Up Drinking Coffee for One Week. Here’s What Happened – Samantha Lea

Leave a Reply

